Oneworld Alliance - Airline Member Information

British Airways

British Airways is one of the world's most recognised airlines and is the largest airline in the UK based on fleet size, it is also a founding member of the oneworld alliance along with Qantas, American Airlines and Cathay Pacific. The airline and its affiliates now serve some 200 destinations in nearly 90 countries throughout Europe, North America, South America, Asia, Africa and Australia, with its main hub based in London, London Heathrow Airport LHR and London Gatwick LGW.
BA was created in 1974 after a British Airways Board was established to manage the nationalised airline corporations of two airlines, British Overseas Airways Corporation BOAC and British European Airways BEA. British Airways merged with Iberia in January 2011 creating the International Airlines Group IAG. IAG is a holding company registered in Madrid MAD Spain. IAG is the world's third largest airline group in terms of annual revenue and the second largest in Europe.
British Airways offers up to four cabin classes on its international longhaul flights, including First, Club World (Business Class), World Traveller Plus (Premium Economy) and World Traveller (Economy), with European flights from London offering Club Europe (Business Class) and Euro Traveller (Economy Class).
British Airways code-shares with virtually every oneworld member airline and has additional commercial agreements with Aer Lingus, Bangkok Airways, Flybe, Loganair, Meridiana and WestJet.

American Airlines

American Airlines AA was founded in April 1926 and together with its regional partners operates an extensive international and domestic network, with an average of nearly 6,700 flights per day to nearly 350 destinations in more than 50 countries around the world.
American and its affiliates operate from major hubs across the USA, including Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas Fort Worth, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix and Washington DC. American Airlines is a founding member of the Oneworld alliance which is one of the world’s largest airline alliance programs, it provides services with alliance partners British Airways, Iberia and Finnair in the transatlantic sectors and Japan Airlines and Cathay Pacific in the transpacific sectors. Regional service is operated by independent and subsidiary carriers under the brand name American Eagle.


Qantas was founded in 1935 and is the flag carrier of Australia and is one of the world's most recognised airlines. The airline is based in Mascot Sydney and has its main hub at Sydney airport SYD. Qantas is a founding member of the Oneworld alliance and serves almost 80 destinations in 20 countries. As the only Australian airline in any global airline alliance it offers an extensive domestic network, besides serving points in Asia, the South Pacific, Europe, North and South America and Africa. Flying under the Qantas banner, Jetconnect is a subsidiary of Qantas that provides services between Australia and New Zealand. Qantas also owns low cost airline Jetstar Airways that operates both international services from Australia and domestic services within Australia and New Zealand.


Iberia is the largest carrier in Spain and is the country’s flagship airline. Iberia joined the Oneworld alliance in 1999 and from its Madrid hub it flies to some 110 destinations in 40 countries across Europe, Africa, the Middle East and is the leading carrier between Europe and Latin America. Iberia flies non-stop to about 15 domestic destinations and about 60 international destinations within Europe and beyond. Adolfo Suárez Madrid-Barajas Airport MAD is Iberia's home hub with Barcelona BCN airport serving as its main focus city.


Finnair is the flag carrier and largest airline of Finland, with its headquarters in Vantaa on the grounds of Helsinki Airport. As Finland's flagship carrier, Finnair flies from its Helsinki hub to more than 60 destinations in 30 countries around the world, including an increasing number of longhaul international flights to and from Asia, with its Helsinki hub ideally placed as a gateway between the Far East and Europe. Finnair was established in 1923, it joined the oneworld alliance in 1999. The airline code-shares with oneworld partners airberlin, American Airlines, British Airways, Cathay Pacific, Iberia, Japan Airlines, Malaysia Airlines, Qantas and S7, and with airlines that are not part of oneworld including Aeroflot, Air China, Air France, Bangkok Airways, Belavia, Czech, Icelandair and TAP Portugal.

Cathay Pacific

Cathay Pacific is the flag carrier of Hong Kong, with its head office and main hub located at Hong Kong International Airport. The carrier is one of Asia's most awarded airlines and a founding member of the oneworld alliance, Cathay Pacific services almost 100 destinations in more than 30 countries around the world. Cathay Pacific offer flights to Hong Kong from three UK airports: London Heathrow LHR, London Gatwick LGW and Manchester MAN.


Airberlin is one of Europe’s leading airlines and since its launch in 1978, Airberlin has grown into Germany's second largest airline. Airberlin’s award-winning service operates codeshare flights with 21 airlines globally and its fleet is among the most modern and eco-efficient in Europe. Airberlin serves over 130 destinations in 30 countries and it joined the oneworld alliance in 2012. Airberlins hubs include Berlin, Dusseldorf, Palma de Mallorca and Vienna. The airline belongs to Etihad Airways Partners, a new brand with which Etihad has been uniting shared activities since 2014.

Top Destination Information Guides...

Check out the Flight4 destination information guides for information on airports, airport transfers, places to visit, local transport, dinning, relaxing and having fun.